Host Elected to the Atlanta Fed's Board of Directors

For immediate release: Jan. 28, 2013

Gerard R. Host, president and chief executive officer of Trustmark Corp., has been elected to the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta's board of directors. His term began Jan. 1, 2013, and runs through Dec. 31, 2015.

Host joined Trustmark in 1984 and has served as chief operating officer, executive vice president and chief financial officer; chairman of the board of Trustmark Financial Services Inc.; executive vice president of the company's consumer services group and chief investment officer. Prior to joining Trustmark, he was with First National Bank in Mobile, Ala.

Host serves as chairman of the Board of Governors of the Mississippi Economic Council and director and member of the executive committee on the Greater Jackson Chamber Board and is on the board of the Mississippi Bankers Association.

Host received his bachelor's degree in economics from the University of South Alabama in 1979. He graduated from the National School of Financial & Funds Management at the University of Illinois in 1982 and the Graduate School of Financial & Funds Management at the University of Oklahoma in 1983. He also received a graduate certificate from the LSU School of Banking. He is a 2002 graduate of the Center for Creative Leadership in Greensboro, N.C.

Each of the nation's 12 Federal Reserve Banks has a nine-member board of directors. Three Class A directors are generally bankers and are elected by national and state-chartered banks that are members of the Federal Reserve System. Three Class B directors are also elected by these banks but represent commerce, industry, agriculture, labor and consumers. Three Class C directors represent the same broad array of public interests but are appointed by the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C. The Reserve Bank's chair and deputy chair must be Class C directors. Host is a Class A director.

The board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta oversees the management of the bank's operations and recommends changes in the discount rate. Board members also contribute to the formulation of U.S. monetary policy through the economic information they provide the bank's president.

Contact: Jean Tate 404-498-8035